SessionLab allows you to share your session plans with other users if you are on a paid subscription (Pro or Team) or in the trial period of a paid subscription.
There are 4 ways to share a session plan, depending on what you want to achieve:
- Invite a collaborator with editor rights – if you want to work together and co-edit the session plan
- Invite a collaborator with viewer rights – if you want to get feedback (comments) on a session plan
- Create a shareable link – if you want to share a session plan with people who do not prefer to create a SessionLab account
- Sessions accessible on a shared (team) workspace – having a session in a team workspace allows your team members to search and reuse content from your session
When you invite someone to a session you created, or you create and share a shareable link, you give access only to the specific session you invited your collaborator to, so your collaborators will not have access to the other sessions you may have created.
You can invite a collaborator to work on your session plans either in the Session Planner tool within your session plan, or straight away from the session’s card on your dashboard.
In order to find the user you want to invite, just type their name or email address in the invitation bar. If the person already has a SessionLab account, then her name will automatically appear in the list. When you invite people to a session plan, they will receive an email notification with the link to the session.
You can find the same invitation functionality on your dashboard as well: on every session where you are the owner (creator), you can invite collaborators by clicking on the ‘Add collaborators’ button.
In case the person you want to invite does not have a SessionLab account, you can similarly add their email address to the list of collaborators of your session and hit the Invite button. Then you can customise the invitation and send it by hitting the ‘Send’ button. They will receive an email notification and will need to sign up to SessionLab to access the plan. They will be able to see the plan you shared with them even if they only have a Free subscription.
When you invite a collaborator, you may decide whether you want to assign viewer or editor rights to the user
With viewer rights, your collaborator can view the session but cannot edit the session plan; they can only add comments. Out of all the information in the session, everything except the Notes tab (the top panel in the left side menu) is visible to a viewer.
If you want to co-edit a session with your collaborator, you may assign editor rights. With editor rights, your collaborator can modify any part of the session and you are able to work real-time together on the session plan.
In either case, your collaborators do not need to have a paid subscription. The only condition to invite collaborators is that the owner (creator) of the session must have the right to share sessions (i.e. being on a Pro or Team subscription); the invited collaborators may even be on a free Basic subscription. As long as the session owner is on a Pro or Team subscription, the shared session will be accessible to all invited collaborators.
You will get an email notification when a collaborator adds a comment to a plan that you own or that is shared with you. In order not to flood your inbox, such notifications are bundled together and sent a maximum of once per hour to your inbox. If you want, you can turn them off completely from your account settings.
SessionLab allows you to work together on session plans simultaneously with your collaborators. There are a few useful features which will let you know if your collaborators are also viewing or editing the plan and thus to prevent two or more collaborators overwriting one another’s work by editing the same block at the same time.
Firstly, in the header of the left side panel, you see the list of collaborators’ images. Whenever a collaborator is viewing the session, this image has a green edge. When both images have a green edge, it means that both you and your collaborator are online and currently have the same session open.
Furthermore, if your collaborators are editing any blocks of the session, their thumbnail image will appear next to the specific block they are currently typing in.
Yes, you can assign any collaborator you invited for your session to any block, and this way indicate who is responsible for which part of the session. You can assign only from the list of invited collaborators to your session, currently, there is no option to manually assign additional people who are not invited to the session.
When you have assigned collaborators to your session blocks, their icons will appear on the assigned blocks and also their names will be indicated on the printouts.
There might be a situation when you want to share your workshop or training plan with someone who likely would not want to sign up to create their own SessionLab account in order to view the session. In this case, you can create a Shareable link: this allows the session plan to be shared with people without having them log in to SessionLab.
People with the shareable link will be able to open and view the session plan, including all its details and description. However, since they are not logged in, they are not able to make comments.
When you create a shareable link to your session, then the session does not become searchable publicly over the internet. The session can only be opened if someone has the link you created. As the owner of the session, you can withdraw the shareable link anytime by clicking on the same button you created the link with. You’ll see a little green line when the link is active, and when you click it again, the line will turn white to show that it’s inactive. In this case, the link you shared with people will stop working. If you want to re-enable this sharing option later on for your session, then the exact same link will be created.
If a session belongs to a team workspace, then all members of the team by default have viewer rights to that session, and therefore the ability to search and use content from the session. This is different than being specifically invited to collaborate on a session. If you’ve been invited to collaborate (as either an owner, editor or viewer) then you’ll receive emails about comments on the session. However, if a user simply has access to the session as they’re a workspace member, then they won’t receive these emails. Learn more about the team workspace in our knowledge articles about the Team account.