Do you have a session in which you want to split up the agenda to multiple tracks running in parallel?
Do you want to split up your audience to several groups and have a customised agenda for each group?
The solution is: Breakout sessions
Breakout sessions (a.k.a. Parallel tracks) can be created with the Breakout session button: Move your mouse over any block in your session plan, and you will see the Block / Group / Breakout session creation buttons appearing under and above your block.
When you click on the Breakout session button, a new Breakout session will be created in your session plan.
The Breakout session is created with two parallel tracks by default, but you can easily add (and remove tracks). The tracks inside the Breakout session behave the same way as the rest of the session planner tool: You can create blocks and groups inside each track, and move blocks into your tracks.
The overview bar on the left side will always represent the track that you currently have active, that is the track being viewed on your screen.
If you have empty gray space in the left side overview bar in your breakout session, it means that one of your tracks within the breakout session takes longer time than the one you currently have open.
You can rename the tracks of your breakout session by clicking on the title of the track:
If you click on the Overview button next to list of your tracks in a breakout session, then you will get a zoomed out view where you see all tracks next to each other. Here you can move blocks between the tracks.
If you have more tracks than what fits on your screen, you will have a horizontal scrollbar at the bottom of your breakout session to help navigating among the columns representing your tracks. If you want to create more space for your overview, you may also hide the right sidebar, by clicking in the uppermost button in the right side menu.
Each track of your breakout session has its length marked next to the name of the track. The length of your breakout session – counted in the overall length of your whole session – will always equal the longest track you have in the breakout session.
When you are finished designing your session, you may take a final look at on your breakout tracks to double check that they have equal length so you don’t have unused time in any of your tracks.
If you want to delete one of the tracks in your breakout session, you first need to click on that track, and then select the Delete track option from the dropdown menu in the upper right corner of the breakout session.
Please make sure to select the ‘Delete track’ option. If you select the simple ‘Delete’ option, it will delete the whole breakout session with all of its tracks.
Deleting a track – just like deleting any block or a complete breakout session – deletes it permanently, there is no option to Undo this action.
Your breakout sessions will also be visible and editable in the Multi Plan View (if you click on the Overview button in your sessions’s header)
Here you will have a zoomed out view of your breakout session, and you can navigate with arrows between the different tracks.
Your breakout sessions will appear also on the printout. The tracks will be listed under each other, and a visual mark will indicate the scope of the whole breakout session.